FEMA IS and SEMS G606 Courses

This page lists the independent-study (IS) FEMA courses, and SEMS G606 course, that are required or recommended for each La Verne CERT membership level.  (Please refer to the La Verne CERT Team Membership Levels & Requirements document to see the required vs. recommended courses.)  Each on-line course is free, self-paced, and requires a FEMA Student Identification (SID) number to take the exam and to access your FEMA IS training record and transcript.  Upon successful completion of each exam, a certificate will be e-mailed to you.  When you receive the certificate, save a copy for your records and send the certificate to the LV CERT team coordinator.

Level 1

  • IS-100:  Introduction to the Incident Management System, ICS
  • IS-700:  Introduction to the National Incident Management System (NIMS)
  • IS-505:  Religious and Cultural Literacy and Competency in Disaster (optional)

Level 2

  • Completion of IS courses required for Level 1
  • SEMS G606*:  Standardized Emergency Management System Introduction
  • IS-242:  Effective Communication
  • IS-201:  Forms Used for the Development of the Incident Action Plan
  • IS-800:  National Response Framework, an Introduction
  • IS-907:  Active Shooter: What You Can Do

*How to find the SEMS G606 Course:

  • Go to the CSTI site
  • Click the Browse Training image.
  • On the Browse Training page, type G606 in the search box
  • In the search results, select the Standardized Emergency Management System Introduction (SEMS G606) online course.
  • On the Training Details page, click the Request button.
  • Complete the form to create a CSTI account (your FEMA SID is also required).
  • Return to the course.

Level 3

  • Completion of IS courses required for Level 2
  • IS-200:  Basic Incident Command System for Initial Response
  • IS-230:  Fundamentals of Emergency Management
  • IS-240:  Leadership and Influence
  • IS-241:  Decision Making and Problem Solving
  • IS-242:  Effective Communication